My Story

Thanks for visiting my site!

My name is Courtney Danyel. I’m a 29-year-old anthropologist, freelance writer, wife and mother (not necessarily in that order).

I’m from Vancouver, Washington, USA. I live in Hawassa, Ethiopia with my husband, our foster kids, and our dog. 

Courtney Danyel

I went to Washington State University, receiving my BA in 2012 and MA in 2014. I was a top student, excelling at everything I tried. But the demands of academia had me stretched thin and I needed a change.

So I decided to quit school, go back to Ethiopia, and start making online income.

My boyfriend and I ended up getting married a few years ago. Here’s a photo of when we first met (right before I made the switch to freelancing):

We have three foster kids who are the light of my life.
There’s also our dog, Coco. He's an expat from Germany and has a German canine passport. I adopted him when I was an undergrad student in 2009. Yes, I brought him all the way to Ethiopia. He’s 12 years old and now he's lived on three continents.
Israel and me standing on a small piece of land his father gave him in rural Ethiopia
We spent nearly a month visiting Thailand. My work was never interrupted. 🙂
Out for coffee with my parents the first time they came to visit me in Ethiopia.
Characters like this guy show up in our yard all the time to visit. One of the many perks of working from home in Africa.
Another perk of freelancing: Lunch out on a Tuesday. With the kids and 2 of my brothers when they came to visit.

If you’re interested in learning more about making the switch from academia to freelancing online, I encourage you to sign up for my mailing list.

I’ll tell you more about this amazing, life-changing opportunity for which you are already fully qualified.

 

Menu